L.A. Contemporary Dance Company X Sara Silken: Lost Mind

by Marypublished on July 1, 2021
1 view

I’m sorry. It’s okay. I’m so sorry. It’s okay. I wish things didn’t have to be this way…⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣
LOST MIND is a narrative dance film exploration of the psyche by director, writer, and choreographer Sara Silkin. The film recounts her inability to identify her father’s mental illness throughout her life. With her powerful application of surrealist movement imagery, she recreates the emotional physical highs experienced during a manic episode, followed by the endless spirals of depression caused by bipolar disorder.⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣
_⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣
Dancers: Hyosun Choi & JM Rodriguez (@hi_o_sun & @jm22nmrk)
Narrator: Lori Dorfman (@loridorfman)

Producer: L.A. Contemporary Dance Company (@lacontemporarydance)
Director: Sara Silkin (@sarasilkin)
Song: Patrick Watson (@patrickwatsonofficial)

DP: Iain Trimble (@iaintrimble)
AC: Joe Ashi (@joe_ashi)
Editor: Kevin Tadge (@kevintadge)
Colorist: New Gate Films (@newgatefilms)
Costumes: Kelsey Vidic (@kvidic)
Poster: Youthana Yuous (@youthanasux)